The Miracle of the One

I stopped by a local restaurant for lunch.  I sat alone.  I ate alone.  However, at the table in front of me was an older woman who was also eating by herself.  She looked sad and old, almost a ‘crippled’ look and countenance.  I almost expected to see a wheelchair close by.  I  hesitated to follow my promptings.  I was feeling that I should go talk to her, but I am shy.  What would I say?

I had a long conversation with myself while eating my meal. I discreetly watched her.  She was nearing the completion of her meal.  Her check was on its way and dishes were being cleared.  Suddenly, I arose and asked her if she liked ice cream.  She had forgotten that, in this all-you-can-eat restaurant, there was ice cream available.  A childlike smile came upon her face and she said that she would love some.  I brought a bowl of her favorite flavor ice cream and also a bowl for myself.  I set hers down in front of her and turned to walk back to my table.  She asked me to join her at her table.  Could it be that while I was watching her, that she was watching me?

I gathered up my remaining meal and we sat, ate ice cream, and talked for maybe 20 minutes.  She asked me all about myself and also answered my questions about her life. She no longer appeared  to be  old or sad.  She was vibrant and beautiful.

She was a bright ‘ray of light’  just waiting to be loved and noticed.  And that’s how it happened that we became a blessing to each other that day.

Standard

Leave a comment